Two of Girlguiding IWs Commissioners were honoured to be invited by the IW Lord-Lieutenant (Mrs Susie Sheldon) to her Awards Ceremony for 2022.

The Royal Yacht Squadron hosted H.M. Lord- Lieutenant of the Isle of Wight Awards and both Linda Stone (Island Commissioner) and Donna Sanders (Assistant Island Commissioner) were very pleased to attend.

A short introduction by Brigadier (retired) Maurice Sheen CBE DL Chair Hampshire and Isle of Wight Committee of the SE Reserved Forces and Cadets Association (SERFCA) opened proceedings.

A fanfare by trumpeters of the Third Battalion Princess of Wales Regiment, based in Canterbury, announced the arrival of H.M. Lord- Lieutenant Mrs. Susie Sheldon JP.

Three Island residents received their British Empire Medal (BEM).

Mrs. Margaret Beacham, (R) a legal secretary, is very well known in the Sea Cadet community. Described as leading by example she recently set up a Sea Cadet facility on the River Medina at Island Harbour.

Mrs. Diane Foxley, (L) a keen sailor, settled in Seaview and volunteered at the Seaview Yacht Club. A member of Seaview Parish Council she was instrumental in setting up the Community Village Shop in Seaview, the first and so far, only such shop on the Island.

Mr Robert (Rob) Jones, (centre) the Library Services Manager for the Isle of Wight Council is passionate about local libraries. Rob transformed libraries on the island and pioneered IT services here to the extent that he had direct input into the 2021 Census on the island.

Four new Deputy Lieutenants were officially appointed. Dr. Jonathan Nainby- Luxmoore was responsible for the Fleet Review involving some 500 boats at Cowes in connection with H.M. The Queen’s Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

The Hon. Mrs. Didi Nicholson is responsible for education and careers of Island youngsters and recently helped organise the Maritime Careers Fair at the RYS.

Richard Priest OBE was introduced as the doyen of everything appertaining to Shanklin, Sandown and Lake.

Businessman Geoff Underwood, a former High Sheriff, is the holder of the Queen’s Award for Enterprise with his company IFPL which is based at Calbourne.

There were seven recipients of the silver level of the Duke of Edinburgh Award: Emma Ablitt, Jessica Atkins, Kristie Bufton, Ethan Cass, Sanjay Kakurla, Daisy Turner and Theo Williams.

For 2022/ 23 three Cadets were appointed to assist H.M. Lord- Lieutenant on official duties. They were Petty Officer Cadet Annabel Boag-Ryde School Combined Cadet Force, Able Cadet Alicia Davison- Cowes Sea Cadet Unit and Cadet Corporal Jessica Atkins of the Hampshire and IW Army Cadet Force (Freshwater).

Other Awards were presented to representatives of H.M. Forces and Forces Reserve, The Police Force, Prison Service and the NHS.

In summing up the Awards presentations Susie Sheldon said how the Island depended on its volunteers within its communities. All volunteers were to be thanked together with their families who give such support, adding that the Isle of Wight is “The Best”.