Exemplary council officers were celebrated recently, in recognition and thanks for their outstanding contributions to the Isle of Wight over the past 12 months.

“As we celebrate our milestones we know that our road ahead will see us working ever harder for our community, so that our Island is an inspiring place in which to grow up, live, work and visit”, said chief executive and head of paid service for the council, John Metcalfe.

This event was held at Cowes Yacht Haven and saw 104 nominations received; the most nominations ever received by colleagues; for colleagues.

Eight new categories were presented to celebrate work from 2017, showcasing the skill, appreciation and excellence of colleagues from across the council. All directorates were represented, both in nominations and awards.

For the first time, the awards ceremony also showcased the formal presentation of the Fire Service’ Queen’s Medal to Isle of Wight Fire and Rescue, who have offered 20 years’ service to their profession. The Queen’s Medals were presented by the Lord Lieutenant, Major General Martin White and Chief Fire Officer Neil Odin.

Colleagues who have dedicated much of their working lives to the service of the Isle of Wight Council were recognised. Seven of whom received a certificate and paperweight to commemorate 25 years of service to the Isle of Wight Council from the chairman of the council, Councillor Lora Peacey-Wilcox. Two members of staff received a special tribute: Sandie Johnson for 40 years of service to Island schools and Trevor Howard for 40 Years with the IOW Fire and Rescue Service.

The staff appreciation awards were presented by members of the councils corporate management team and the leader of the council, Councillor Dave Stewart.